Customer center login
Country and Language

Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

751 Customer Reviews

5 453 Customers
4 236 Customers
3 44 Customers
2 12 Customers
1 6 Customers
4.5 / 5

playability

features

sound

quality

Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set
2.139 AED 502,52 €
Plus 211 AED shipping
The price in AED is a guideline price only!
Since we ship from Germany, additional costs through taxes and customs may be incurred
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
sa
Excellent value for money
shave and a haircut 10.07.2019
I purchased the MPS-850 for home practice - I normally play an acoustic drum kit. My only previous e-kit experience was with a converted acoustic kit (mesh heads, triggers, VST, laptop etc). The performance of the MPS-850 is proving far superior. I'll go through the various components one by one.

MODULE
The kit is ready to play the instant you switch it on. This is a huge advantage for me, compared to dealing with laptop, VST, external soundcard etc. Another plus: I can't detect any latency, which makes the playing experience feel very natural. Many of the in-built acoustic type kits sound OK. With the help of the supplied manual I created my own 'User Kit' which I'm very happy with. There are several settings you can tweak to deliver an excellent response from all the individual pieces. I've made good use of the module's USB input, playing along to MP3s. You can also record to USB to listen back to your new grooves. I sometimes run the module's output to a Porter & Davies BC2. That works fantastically well! There are additional features I haven't tried yet e.g. MIDI in/out, Aux In etc. It's a well featured unit, easy to navigate.

BASS DRUM & BASS DRUM PEDAL
The supplied pedal looks like a low budget item, but works surprisingly well. Not quite as fast as my Tama Speedking but I find it perfectly usable for practice. The kick pad is mounted to a sturdy frame, separate to the rest of the rack.

HI-HAT
The MPS-850 is supplied with a 'proper' hi-hat stand. On my acoustic kit I have the hi-hats set quite high and was pleased to find the stand has sufficient height to duplicate my normal hi-hat position. I've seen a few reviews saying the MPS-850 hi-hat can't handle a disco-style open and close pattern. I've found the hi-hat responds quite well but I've had to adapt my foot action slightly to get closer to a realistic sounding feel. So the hi-hat open/close feel's not perfect but it's much better than I was expecting based on other feedback I've read. The chick and splash sounds are very good. A nice sounding 'chick' is easy and very intuitive but a splash requires an extremely rapid down and up foot movement - much faster than required with a regular hi-hat, otherwise you only get 'chick'. It's not a big deal but I'll agree with some others that there's scope for improvement to the hi-hat's open/close response and chick action.

SNARE
As with all the pads, stick response and feel from the mesh head is excellent. Initially I wasn't entirely happy with the sound of ghost notes and faster double stroke snare rolls - they sounded a little too machine-gun. After changing the snare's velocity curve in the module's settings I've now got a more natural sounding drum that handles double-stroke and other rudiment style rolls in a more realistic way.

TOMS
They worked just fine straight out of the box. At first I found the 8 inch pads were too small - I was often hitting the rim - but after adjusting the position and getting used to playing pads that are much smaller than my acoustic kit's toms, my accuracy has improved greatly! I didn't have the same problem with the 2 x 10 inch pads.

CRASH CYMBALS
Both crashes have separate bow and edge sounds. No bell sound. But they're also chokable, which is a great bonus. Once you've worked out exactly how to grab the edge in the right way, choke works perfectly every time.

RIDE CYMBAL
It's a 3 zone ride - bow edge and bell. I've seen a few comments about the bell sound being unreliable, so I was prepared for this to be an issue. What I've found is the bell function will work consistently, but only if it's struck within a very small area i.e. you have to look very carefully at the spot you're striking, which can be difficult at faster tempos. If you were recording with the kit and needed 100% perfect bell response, that could be tricky. Ideally the bell area would be larger, but for practice purposes I don't find it a major problem.

RACK & MOUNTS etc
I've never been a fan of racks, or e-kits for that matter - that's why my first venture into e-drumming was an acoustic to electric conversion - because a conventional drum kit will always look better IMO. So setting aside the fact all racks look like scaffolding, the most important thing is whether the MPS-850 rack is sturdy and reliable. I've had my kit for approx 6 weeks and it's been played for an average of an hour almost every day. So far the rack has been 100% reliable. Nothing has come loose or fallen off. It was easy to assemble, following the diagrams in the supplied manual.

SUMMARY
No doubt about it, the MPS-850 is outstanding value for money. To package such a well featured module along with bass drum (and BD pedal), snare, 4 x toms, 2 x crashes, 3-zone ride, hi-hat and hi-hat stand at this price is hugely impressive. The two supplied manuals are nicely done. One is for rack assembly and the other is a very detailed instruction book for the pads, cymbals and all module settings. I received two copies of each - one in German and one in English. Clear, concise and well written - not a hint of Chinglish!

CUSTOMER SERVICE
After a couple of weeks, one of my 10" drum pads (floor tom) developed a fault. The drum would only respond if the mesh head was struck in a very specific area, close to one of the mesh cones that sits between the head and sensor. When I contacted Thomann and described the fault, they asked me to send a video so they could get a better idea of what the problem was. I sent them a short video the following morning. Later the same day they contacted me to let me know a replacement pad was being sent free of charge. Yes, a slight inconvenience having to wait for a replacement but very reassuring to know Thomann were keen to resolve it as quickly as possible. 10/10
playability
features
sound
quality
42
0
Report

Report

S
Superb bang for buck e-drum set!!!
Smileadon 25.10.2020
After many weeks debating whether or not to buy this drum kit I finally made the plunge. I've been drumming for almost 20 years and have had many acoustic kits during that time. I wanted something that was compact, quiet and usable for home recording and for drum covers in the future. Plus,I live in an apartment.

Connected to my Mac fine, but had to remap the MIDI. Pads were assigned to different notes in my DAW (Logic Pro).

If you're new to drumming, or even have been playing for sometime, this kit would accomodate your needs perfectly. Having said that, people need to understand that an electronic kit plays and feels different from an acoustic kit. So heavy hitters will have to adjust accordingly. It can take a bashing alright tho. My background is Post/Hardcore Rock.

The kit is not perfect out the box (module settings) wise. However, you REALLY need to TWEAK the module so that it suits how you play for a more natural response. (Threshold, sensitivity, velocities, curves, and xtalk etc.) There are many YT Vids that explain all of this, so do your homework. Definitely worth the time. I love that this set has all mesh heads as you can loosen or tighten to mimic the real thing.

PROS
-All Mesh Heads (tunable)
-Full Hi Hat Stand
-Robust Module (can tweak settings unlike similar kits in the same price range)
-Module has volume faders for each pad for quick adjustment on the fly.
-3 zone Ride & chokable cymbals
-Bang for buck. You get a lot kit for the money
-Nice sized kit and compact.
-Works well with VSTs

CONS
-Sounds aren't too bad, but you have enough to get by. Grand for practising.
-Hi Hat doesn't respond quick enough, sometimes the foot splash/open hat continues after foot is pressed down. Really noticable when playing fast. I still need to tweak it a little more to match how i play.
-Rack clamps seem to not tighten but still become loose, so I find myself correcting this often. Like for example the snare support arm, can move with your hand even when the clamp is tightened.
-Rubber rims look flat and squared and seems like there's a lot of space between them and the mesh heads. Can also see metal gap in between them. Isn't a big deal but noticeable.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this drum set, I've owned a Roland TD9 in the past but honestly can't justify the money for big brands anymore, if you're on a budget and want to play/learn drums, this is the kit for you.
playability
features
sound
quality
10
0
Report

Report

G
Very happy with my purchase
Govinder 22.10.2020
I've had the MPS-850 for a couple of weeks now and had a chance to give it a good thrashing, so here are my thoughts in case they're of interest to any potential buyers.

I want to say up front that I scoured the reviews to get as much idea of whether this kit was any good or not prior to purchase and I had it ordered and in the shopping cart and back out again about 4 times over about a 6 week period during which I was clearly being indecisive :-)

Thing is, for me, it is a big purchase that I can just about justify but only if it is worth that expenditure. But it's obvious that I was interested.

So, cut to the chase, is it worth the money ? Absolutely yes.
I have an excellent quality acoustic kit and I hit hard, so I was a little sceptical about the mesh heads and if the rack would stand the use but I needn't have worried. The heads can take more than you might expect and despite the fact that yes, you do play a little softer naturally on an electric kit compared to hammering it out on stage behind a 'proper' kit, it plays well and has a great feel. To be honest you're not really going to be going full on Keith Moon in your living room or spare bedroom anyway are you ?

I'll not bother going into a full review of everything about sounds etc because it's already been covered in most of the other reviews. I'll maybe just mention a few things that I didn't notice in the other ones.
If it's your thing .... I use a double kick pedal with this kit and it works perfectly. I have heard people say that they don't work very well on leccy kits because the beaters aren't hitting the optimum centre spot of the kick drum skin (mesh). Well the response is great and feels very natural to me straight out of the box, but if necessary you can adjust the sensitivity as you choose. I haven't because I don't think it needs it.

I haven't had any problem with finding the (apparently elusive g-spot) bell of the ride cymbal that others have mentioned and it doesn't need hitting harder or anything like that, it's very nicely playable actually. And while I'm mentioning cymbals - the choke function is great when you have found how to do it. It's very easy to use but makes it more 'real' sounding and less 'electric' kit.
Hi - hat .... what can I say - great to have a proper one and works well once you get used to it. Never had more than a floor pedal and flat plastic cymbal for a hi-hat on my previous electric kit.

Last thing I'll mention that I haven't seen anyone talk about is that the module and kit has very low latency which is great. I like to play online with other people around the world and latency of getting the signals around and through a computer before you even involve the randomness of the internet and it's volatile connections and speed, is the biggest issue. The MPS-850 has performed extremely well in this department so I'm happy with that too.

So in conclusion, I am over the moon with my purchase. The kit as a whole far exceeds the price tag and is easily a match for other 'named' brand equipment selling at a far higher price. It ticks all my boxes for what I require from an electric practice kit and to be honest I can't praise it highly enough. I'm sure that kits that cost many hundreds of pounds more, have more features and samples and voices and songs on them but if you really can't find anything you like on the MPS-850 module then I'm sorry but I think you're being rather over critical.

(My only criticism would be that you can't specify a time to have it delivered so I had to collect from the parcel carrier depot but that's nothing to do with the product).

A great kit. I'm a very happy customer.
playability
features
sound
quality
6
0
Report

Report

Sa
The best E-Kit for the price
Sadeem al Bakry 23.03.2020
I am a metal drummer, I've owned and have been playing acoustic drums for the past 8 years, I recently moved house and have been having trouble with my neighbours due to the noise while also wanting to record with my band, I bought GGD samples and started looking for electronic drums, I found this drum kit and just by reading the feature sheet, I knew it was perfect for me!

Pros:
- Cheap price
- all cymbals are chokable
- ride with bell (triple-zone)
- all pads are two-zone
- Fairly large sizes
- durable rack
- mesh pads feel nice
- everything triggers well enough
- inputs can be split to add more pads
- kick pedal and hi-hat stand included
- sample import
- aux in
- faders to mix the sound
- overall has a lot of great features.

Cons:
- Ride bell only sometimes triggers if hit really hard and really accurately
- a lot of x talk
- my crash 2 input was single-zone
- module sounds are not very realistic
- sample import only allows one-shot samples
- very sensitive triggers but not very dynamic in terms of velocity

overall I would recommend this kit to anyone with a budget of under $1000 because although the module sounds arent great, you can use sample software such as GGD, Superior drummer or steven slate drums, and have large pads to enjoy, the only other drumkit to compare this to is the Alesis crimson or the Alesis DM10 and both of those kits are much more expensive with similar features just larger sizes (by only 2 inches) and unless if your main problem comes from the ride, just use a splitter cable, use tom 4 as a single-zone pad, and get a triple-zone ride which would make this kit the best drum kit under $1000
playability
features
sound
quality
5
0
Report

Report

H
Great E-drum set for rehearsals
Heeplv 25.04.2021
So, first and foremost – yes, this E-drum set is great value for money. It works fine and allows to cover vast majority of use cases, for which entry-level electronic drum sets are bought. Fantastic job, Thomann, thank you!

The hardware is very sturdy on my opinion, plastic parts are made thick and dense. Metallic parts are great as well. Mesh drum pads are also very good, especially, considering the price. Drum module is easy to use and has a plenty of features. The possibility of instantly adjust volume of instruments is awesome!

Instead of listing pros and cons, let me just summarize the things, for which MPS-850 is ready and for which (likely) not.

Ready for:
- Practicing at home;
- Learning to play drums;
- Playing simple grooves;
- Rehearsals;
- Small venue gigs, where acoustic set will be too noisy and non-manageable;
- The bands, which play simple songs live, when the quality of sound, mobility and simplicity of an E-drum set are the top priority;
- Recording in a studio, using the MIDI output of drum module.

Not ready for:
- Playing complicated drum patterns and/or solos;
- Playing dynamically articulated grooves (the kit is not supporting multisamples);
- Playing veeeery fast;
- Recording in a studio, using the analog output of drum module – as long, as there are no separate outputs for each instrument.

Some very subjective thoughts

As a very tall person, I would like to make the drum rack a bit bigger and wider. Say, +10 centimeters for each drum rack tube (excluding the snare tube, which is great). Also, the hi-hat could be a bit more sensitive, with better tracking of pedal release.

I know that this fact might be considered as a feature of an expensive setup, but I would like to have the multisample support here. At least, for the snare only. We all know that real drums and cymbals produce very different sound when heavily hit vs lightly. The snare, when hit lightly does not produce much sound of a resonant drumhead, and vice versa; etc… As far as I understand, this drum module can only play one sample per trigger, so the only difference will be its volume, not the character of a note.

One more thing to mention is the headphone amp, which is a bit underpowered. When using Beyerdynamic DT770 80 Ohm version, the headphone volume is always at maximum.
playability
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

P
Awesome price/quality relation
Penguin0 09.05.2020
This is my 2nd e-drums. My previous was a Roland td-12 from about a decade ago
I'm used to play acoustic and electronic drums and so you can understand my pov.

This millennium drums it's very good quality for buck but do not expect excellent top quality.

It is easy to setup, easy to get it running, the rack seems durable enough but I wouldnt be dismounting this too often, it sounds well enough, the module has tons of customisations, the triggers seems to be catching most of the strokes ( if you increase sensitivity it can go almost real) if you are using double pedal, the kick sens must be increased quiet a lot because you are not hitting the middle. Cymbals are ok but sometimes crashes are triggering 2nd zone on rim.. also the ride bell is hard to trigger. The hihat stand seems legit but you must get accustomed.
Over all, 100% recommend, specially since the next go is more than double the money.

I've paired this with superior drummer and a clarett interface. I'm getting very nice numbers in terms of delay and sounds fantastic.

If you need a practice drums this won't disappoint you. For professional use, it may get a bit short but it will put a good fight against other big numbers.

Thomann has worked very well and they have a reliable but low budget product.

The shipment was fast, in 3 days at home.

If you reading this and you are not very sure, I'll tell you, buy even if it is not on stock, as soon they receive they will send. Thank you Thomann
playability
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

T
Amazing to get back to playing
TheKen 24.03.2020
As a beginner/Imtermediate who spend nearly 10 without a drum kit, this kit is a Godsend!

The price you pay for what you get is very, very reasonable.
The kit isn't too loud when your playing and can be easily folded away if you don't have too much room in your house. The sound quality is brilliant especially when you sit down and tweak all the settings to how you want them. Mighty fun going through all the voice sounds too. There are endless combinations. All rims can be triggered and reset, the crashes and ride can be choked. It's got it all.

Anyone who is picking up drums, getting back into them or simply can't have a full acoustic kit where they live, this is the one for you.

There are a few small cons of course, though they aren't anything to cry about.
1: The highhat can be tedious sometimes using the splash but figured out you have active it when open then close the pedal to get it to work. Muscle memory takes care of the rest.

2: The ride bell has to be given a good hard and precise hit to trigger it. It can be inconsistent at times even at that.

3: I'm currently having a issue with the usb recording not playing the full track recorded after I plug into my computer. Could be a simple fix but still working on it.

Regardless of the cons, this kit was 10/10 IGN worth the money!
As for the last con, if you play on using the midi outlets they work perfect.
playability
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

Ag
good
Amr gamal 09.01.2020
Let's agree first that there are four icons in e-drums world roland,yamaha,atv and pearl with high price so don't compare mps 850 with them but mps beat alesis drums in price and spare parts price and availability and customer care
mps have same Build quality of alesis and almost same sound
another comparison xdrum,fame vs mps850 same build quality, sound and less price but there is no spare parts for fame drums on musicstore website and when you ask after send many mails without response from them says spare parts will be available soon but soon never come so big zero for customer care and customer experience , xdrum have a limited spare parts on website
I gave 5 stars for mps depend on Value for the price
note"my friend have fame DD ONE and his 12 inch snare pad was dameged from 6 month ago and its not available till now "
playability
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

KB
Excellent value
Kerry B 03.10.2020
I’m a total beginner on the drums, and this is my first kit, so bear in mind that I don’t have anything else to compare it to. I spent a while researching the alternatives before settling on the 850 – for the same price I could have got a very basic Roland kit, or a slightly lower spec Alesis. In the end the proper hi-hat and the extra pads swung the decision for me (would I have missed them? no idea yet).

Assembly took me a couple of hours, but the manual was generally pretty clear. Everything seems to be solidly made. As I said, I don’t have anything to compare it to, but the module sounds seem fine to my inexpert ears. It works seamlessly with my Mac too, if I need more options. There aren’t any training functions built in, but something like Melodics is probably better anyway.

The two playability issues I’ve seen mentioned a lot are the difficulty of triggering the ride bell (it does seem pretty sensitive to where and how hard you hit it, but I haven’t tried adjusting anything yet), and of playing a hi-hat splash (initially it seemed almost impossible, but it works much better if you increase the gap between the hi-hat pad and the trigger module).

Overall I’m very pleased so far, and it seems like an awful lot of kit for the money.
playability
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

c
cmmpsantos 04.03.2021
This set is wonderful for beginners. Although I prefer acoustic drums and I already had one, this set is great for practicing, specially now that I can't have an acoustic drum set at my current home. The hi-hats really gives you a great simulation of real ones. The rack is perfect and the 4th tom and 3rd cymbal is a must.
The only reason I don't give 5 stars to playable is because I feel the bass drum sensibility is a little bit weak, specially when using my double pedals.
Regarding quality/price is a very excellent choice if you can't afford to buy a more expensive e-drum set.
playability
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set